Author : Webmaster
Article ID : 312
Audience : All
Version 1.00.03
Published Date: 2008/12/5 17:20:00
Reads : 1637

After the creation of the state of West Virginia, the new state legislature passed an act providing for the division of counties into townships. In the fall of 1863 Roane county was divided into seven townships. In 1874, the new state constitution substituted the term "District" in place of "Township."

The seven districts are:

  • Curtis
  • Geary
  • Harper
  • Reedy
  • Smithfield
  • Spencer
  • Walton

Map of Roane Magisterial Districts
Resized Image

Printer Friendly Page Send this Article to a Friend
The comments are owned by the author. We aren't responsible for their content.
Author Thread
Help Wanted!
We welcome submissions of any information pertaining to genealogy and history connected to Roane County, West Virginia. To submit an article click here.
Copyright © 2008-2017 by Roane County Historical Society, Inc.